Larry James' CelebrateLove.com BLOG

Monday, November 24, 2014

No Words Unsaid ~ Write Someone You Love a Letter

Last week I watched TV news reporter, Gretchen Carlson interview Jody Noland, the author of Leave Nothing Unsaid. In that interview Jody emphasized how important it is to write a priceless letter to someone special which will:

• Express what that important relationship means to you
• Identify and affirm unique and outstanding character qualities
• Articulate your hopes, prayers and dreams for their life and
• Provide a lasting and invaluable source of encouragement

WriteALoveLetterYou can watch the interview that inspired this article by clicking here!

Next thing I know – 2 days later – I was attending a memorial service for a good friend who died recently. I walked away thinking that life is short. We never know whether the next day will be another gift from God to us or not. I began to think of the people I love and whether there were words that I had not yet said to them and if they were suddenly gone, I might regret.

“One of the most powerful and sincerest forms of communication that we see very little of today is letter writing. I am not talking about e-mail or post-its. I mean a real letter that is written on real paper and dropped in the non-virtual mailbox down the street. Letters take time and thoughtfulness to create.” ~ Michael J. Montegut

We are living in an age of communication, however, I am not talking about the texts we send by smart phone or even the words we speak when we actually talk to someone on the same smart phone. I am talking about the “written word.” How long has it been since you received a hand-written letter from someone – or written a letter to someone you Love?

My mother died as a result of Alzheimer’s disease. When I began to realize that – at times – she hardly remembered who I was, I wrote her a letter. I expressed my love for her and brought up many happy times that we had spent together in years that had passed. It was a 4-pager. To my surprise, my father told me that she would often read my letter, and comment that I must have been a very good boy. One day I arrived for a visit and she was reading my letter. She was thrilled to meet the boy that wrote the letter. You may want to read a story I wrote in a 2nd Helping of Chicken Soup for the Soul that honors the memory of my mother. More that 5.5 million people bought this book and read my mom’s story. Read, “A Strawberry Malt and Three Squeezes, Please,” here.

After my mother died some years later, I found a large box of letters. Being curious, I started looking through them and realized that there were more than 200 letters that I had hand-written her when I was in the Navy. She kept every letter.

Suggestion: Make a list of the people you love and make a decision to write them a hand-written (not computer generated) letter. You may want to write one letter each week to those on your list. Put your Love for someone on paper! Put a Love stamp on it and let the U.S. Postal Service deliver it to their door. If you are in a relationship, write the love letter you’ve been meaning to write. Buy her a Hallmark card that expresses your love and include a brief love letter. It doesn’t have to be long and wordy. It’s the thought behind writing the letter that counts.

TimeIsRunningOutA romantic Love letter to your partner, or a letter expressing love to a friend, is a wonderful way to express feelings of love in written form. Whether delivered by hand, mail, carrier pigeon, or romantically left in a secret location, the letter may be anything from a short and simple message of love to a lengthy explanation of feelings.

The power of the written word is amazing. Words matter. Even the words we think about but never express to our relatives and friends. The art of writing a letter doesn’t have to be a lost art. Before the wide use of telecommunications, letters were one of the few ways for a couple to remain in contact.

It’s time to do that. Write a hand-written letter. No texting, no e-mail, no instant messages… but words you write on paper. Leave no words unsaid. Speak from the heart. Express affection, love or whatever you feel in your heart. Say what you may have been afraid to say and say it in the most loving way you can.

You may want to buy Jody’s book. She did a fabulous job of simplifying the process for those of us who have a hard time putting pen to paper. Click on the book cover to the right. Jody Noland’s Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/LeaveNothingUnsaid

“Take the time to try this. Commit right now to write your partner or a loved one a personal note expressing your positive feelings toward them. Do it on paper. If a letter is too daunting, then write a couple sentences. If that is too scary, then try just a few words.” ~ Michael J. Montegut

For me, the month of November brings to mind Thanksgiving. It’s the time of the year when I write letters to people to express my gratitude for having them in my life. If they have made a significant contribution to my life, I write a letter of thankfulness.

BONUS Articles: Have You Written a Love Letter Lately?
13 Emotional Letters That Prove The Written Word Has A Power Like No Other
Never Intentionally Say Hurtful Words to Your Partner

CLoveLOGOCopyright © 2014 – Larry James. This idea is adapted from Larry’s books, “How to Really Love the One You’re With: Affirmative Guidelines for a Healthy Love Relationship,” “LoveNotes for Lovers: Words That Make Music for Two Hearts Dancing” and “Red Hot LoveNotes for Lovers.” Larry James is a professional speaker, author, relationship coach and an award winning nondenominational Wedding Officiant. He performs the most “Romantic” wedding ceremony you will find anywhere. Something NEW about relationships is posted every 4th day on this Relationships BLOG.

commentSubscribe to Larry’s FREE monthly “LoveNotes for Lovers” eZINE. Contact: CelebrateLove.com, P.O. Box 12695, Scottsdale, AZ 85267-2695. – CelebrateLove.com and CelebrateIntimateWeddings.com

NOTE: All articles and “LoveNotes” listed in this BLOG – written by Larry James – are available for reprint in magazines, periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, eZINEs, on the Internet or on your own Website. Click here for details.

letsbefriends2

Add Larry James as a “friend” to your Facebook page: http://www.Facebook.com/larry.james
Follow Larry’s “once daily” Relationship Tweet at: http://www.Twitter.com/larryjames
Follow Larry’s “Wedding BLOG” at: http://CelebrateIntimateWeddings.wordpress.com
Follow Larry’s “Networking BLOG” at: http://NetworkingHQ.wordpress.com
Visit Larry’s Relationship Pin Board on Pintrest @ http://www.pinterest.com/larryjames2012/relationships-blog/

1 Comment »

  1. […] BONUS Articles: Have You Written a Love Letter Lately? Love Letters Straight From the Heart No Words Unsaid ~ Write Someone You Love a Letter […]

    Pingback by How to Write Love Letter | Larry James' CelebrateLove.com BLOG — Sunday, February 8, 2015 @ 8:33 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

